Testimonials

 

 

“Thank you Tanya and John for a wonderful evening, the food was absolutely amazing, and the whole experience was really special. We look forward to seeing you again!”

Amy November 2016

 

“Tanya and John, thank you so much for a super evening. The whole dining experience was amazing. We’ll definitely be back.”

Gemma November 2016

 

smoked haddock croquettes with pea purée

smoked haddock croquettes with pea purée

 

“We had one of the best dinner ever!
Brilliant hosts! Great cuisine!
Heavenly delicious!! Amazing time!
Thank you so much”

Clemence November 2016

 

 

“Fantastic meal food exceptional and a really lovely evening had by all 16 of us would definitely recommend to all and will be returning thank you Tanya.”

Carole October 2016

 

“Thank you Tanya & John for making us welcome in your beautiful home.. Our room was lovely everything was perfect. Tanya your an amazing chef the food was fantastic.. We will be definitely returning next year. Xxxxx”

Kim September 2016

Apricot & pistachio marshmallows

Apricot & pistachio marshmallows

 

“Had a fabulous evening at Knife & Fork last night. The food was beautifully presented and was so very tasty. Tanya and John are great hosts, providing top notch food in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. I’m sure we will be back!”

Deb August 2016

 

 

 

“I cannot put all the positive things we have to say about this restaurant into words; we had a truly fabulous evening at Knife and Fork with Tanya and John.
A must for all foodies who appreciate a carefully considered and beautifully presented menu as well as the perfect ambiance to complement what was a truly delightful dinner.”

Natasha July 2016

“I loved the experience of dining at Knife & Fork. From being welcomed by name at the door as we arrived, it was clear that this is something special. complimentary fizz and melt in the mouth canapés and chatting with other diners, we felt like house guests and not customers.

goats cheese savoury cheesecake with red onion marmalade

goats cheese savoury cheesecake with red onion marmalade

The menu was very well put together. Tastes were superb, and everything cooked just right – the duck and the salmon were particularly delicious. But it was all the little touches (both front of house and the kitchen!) that did it for me, and are what gives Knife & Fork the edge. We will be back. And those amazing coconut truffles MUST be on the menu!”

Russ and Judy, Warwickshire July 2016

 

 

“Fabulous venue, fabulous hosts, fabulous eclectic dining experience spent with fabulous friends. Will definitely be back soon, thank you xxxxx”

 Hayley June 2016

“We have a lovely evening at Knife & Fork last night. A lovely place to eat amazing food, with perfect hosts and a relaxed atmosphere. Tanya and John are extremely welcoming. We will be returning!”

Lorna June 2016

Panfried duck breast with spicy jus

Panfried duck breast with spicy jus

“WOW, what a fantastic find. Thank you Tanya and John for great evening. The food was absolutely delicious. Also thanks to the people we were sat with really enjoyed your company xxxx”

Lesley June 2016

 

 

 

“Another fabulous night at Knife and Fork. Thank you Tanya and John, we had a wonderful time. Dining perfection. I think I ate about 6 coconut truffles, they were irresistible! Already looking forward to our next visit.  :-)”

Kate 2016

“Thank you for a wonderful evening. Fabulous good and wonderful hosts. We will be back!”

Tina May 2016

Knife and Fork is one of those experiences that sticks in the mind. Not only is the food delicious, the hosting superb (yes John I am talking about you!) the atmosphere relaxed and homely; the whole set up is perfect. It is a lovely opportunity to meet new people and try lovely food. We are looking forward to returning for our third evening to sample more of everything . Well done Tanya for such a unique dining experience”.

Amanda & Howard x

April 2016

 

“Fabulous hosts, delicious well thought out menu bursting with flavours, a really wonderful dining experience.., would highly recommend for a great night out.. Thankyou Tanya and John.., we will be back for sure..”

Lisa

April 2016

 

Coffee & Orange“Thank you both so much for this evening. Food was amazing. Met some lovely people. And you two are the perfect hosts. So welcoming. Great relaxed atmosphere. We will be back!”

Tracey

April 2016

 

Hi Tanya

I just wanted to tell you last night’s meal was the best food I have eaten in absolutely years.  It was beautifully presented, the flavours magical, the cooking perfect, the menu balanced, the service impeccable.  What a treat!
Add to that details of lovely napkins and china plus comfortable chairs,  it was brilliant.  I wish you were a restaurant near Compton Verney.
Congratulations to you both on a wonderful formula.
Best wishes
Lizzie
March 2016

Beef fillet wild mushrooms and celeriac

 

“Great atmosphere, wonderful food, I cannot fault it one bit. I thoroughly recommend everyone gives its a whirl!”

Emily

March 2016

 

“The eight of us had a fabulous evening on Saturday – Thank you Tanya.
The food was amazing, we were made to feel very welcome and never felt rushed – I am sure we will be back”.

Adene

March 2016

 

“Thank you Tanya & John for a great night. Every part of the evening was 100% perfect, the food was out of this world, service was fantastic and we had such a good bunch of people to dine with….I loved the whole experience and without doubt will be back again very soon…”

from Natasha & Ian X

February 2016

 

“If only I could write a review as good as Tanya can do a pop up restaurant! The whole evening was perfect – from prosecco and canapés on arrival, through to the home made petit fours to finish.
Each delicious course was a culinary delight, everything was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. I cannot recommend the evening highly enough'”

Kimbereley

February 2016

complimentary Prosecco on arrival

complimentary Prosecco on arrival

 

“What can I say? A perfect evening in every way; the food was out of this world, 8 friends went and we all had a fantastic evening! Thank you so much Tanya and John we will be back xxx I really want to put pictures on but it won’t let me xx food Amazing xx”

Amanda

February 2016

 

“Relaxed atmosphere, fabulous hosts, the most amazing food!!! Absolutely recommended!”

Jenni

February 2016

 

“Not sure if the words I find to describe this experience can do it justice but I’ll try. This was our first time at a pop up restaurant. It has been on my bucket list for a long time. The whole evening was “wow “…. The food was truly sensational, so tasty, so pretty. Every course left me excited about the next one. Tanya you are so talented. We felt so welcome in your home, and John you were a fantastic “host & waiter”.

Raspberry & Pistachio Marshmallows

Raspberry & Pistachio Marshmallows

We have already made a pact with our other friends in the group to return. The experience of a pop up restaurant is just second to none. Nothing can compare to it.

Thank you for having us. X”

Gilly

February 2016

 

“Thank you for a wonderful evening Tanya & the team. The venue is stunning & food was excellent & presented so beautifully I could not fault it at such a reasonable price.
My friends were slightly uncertain about joining people who you haven’t met previously for dinner but we had great company and really enjoyed meeting new people we had a really lovely evening thank you
I would highly recommend the knife & fork to friends
Wishing you lots of luck for the future”

Sara

January 2016

 

“Just a very quick email to you and John to say thank you for hosting a superb evening. The food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. Your new home (once we found it!) was gorgeous and you made the whole evening feel like we were dining with friends.

We will definitely be recommending K&F to our friends.”

Kate

January 2016

“Amazing!! Can’t rate highly enough! Coeliac heaven! brilliant experience!”

Inez

November 2015

 

I have eaten at Knife and Fork three times now. Every time the food has been delicious, fresh and worth double the amount charged! Tanya’s passion for the food she creates definitely makes the food taste extraordinary!”

Lisa

October 2015

 

Sirloin beef Pho

Sirloin beef Pho

“Thank you Tanya for the ultimate dining experience. Tanya definitely creates the perfect ambience and is so welcoming. The Asian menu was exceptional and always excelled. Tanya’s passion for what she does really shines through, and she went above and beyond to make my family celebration very special. The pop up restaurant is an innovative concept and I highly recommend a visit. You will certainly have a fabulous experience.”

Kerry

October 2015

 

 

Just a quick note to thank you for last night. The food was absolutely divine, one of the best meals I have ever enjoyed in my life. You have such an amazing talent to be able to produce meals like that and I wish you every success in your new venture – we will certainly be coming back”.

Joanna

October 2015

 

“I have had 2 gorgeous meals at Knife & Fork and have always left very full and happy. Each part of each course has been truly delicious! Its been great to celebrate some special occasions here as its something different to the norm.”

Laura

September 2015

 

“Amazing food, brilliant atmosphere. Loved it. Highly recommend! Thanks Tanya.”

Emma

September 2015

Buttermilk Panna Cotta with Raspberry Coulis & Vanilla Biscuit

Buttermilk Panna Cotta with Raspberry Coulis & Vanilla Biscuit

“Fab evening celebrating my sisters birthday with a ‘private party’ will def be back to sample the public nights too! Great food, atmosphere, service, hosts! Couldn’t fault a thing we were made to feel instantly at home in Tanya’s beautiful house and had great friendly service from her daughter throughout the evening! Contact before the event was great and lots of added details made the evening extra special! Big thank you”

Alice

August 2015

 

“Oh what a night… Talented Tanya and her team at Knife & Fork provided a gastronomic feast which didn’t disappoint. The whole experience was amazing, the company even better and the food was to die for… Out of all the 7 courses which were all superb I’d have to say that three dishes stood out for me… The deep Fried Poached Egg, Cucumber Gazpacho & Elderflower Panna Cotta with Strawberry Jelly and Processco Cloud were just WOW WOW WOW… If I’d known you had ‘insurance’ food in the kitchen I’d have been asking for seconds and thirds! All in all highly recommended and cannot wait to come again!”

Quin

August 2015

 

“Amazing food and great company in a really charming environment. Can’t recommend this highly enough.”

Simon

July 2015

 

“We had the most amazing evening on the 12th June.

We didn’t really know what to expect but it was Dans birthday and we wanted to do something different. The food was faultless, absolutely fantastic and we were soon happily chatting away with our companions for the evening, one of the best evenings out we have had in a while and certainly one of the best ones in Bicester!

Cannot recommend enough!”

Charlee

June 2015

 

“We experienced our first pop up restaurant evening last night and what a night!
The food was innovative, delicious and amazingly presented. The service was perfectly timed and the company was brilliant.
Thanks again Tanya. We’ll be back soon!”

Laurence

June 2015

Smoked pork loin salad

“Coo, where to start? Except that I hope to do a review in the Bicester Review as this amazing pop up is a total discovery. With Bicester growing so fast, Tanya Young may well find herself having to get bigger premises as word is going to get around rather fast!

In the fantastic surroundings of chef Tanya and John’s home we were treated to champagne and canapes before the most sumptuous five course menu.

Hard to describe here in a short review, but each course was inventive, distinctive and totally tasty. A guzzlable carrot and coriander soup with the thinnest carrot crisps – mmmmm – perfectly cooked asparagus and duck’s egg; Devon-sourced guinea fowl with confit legs and an amazing jus; the desert was a chocolate and orange confit delight – with desert wine – exceptional petits fours and all presented to us as though we were Masterchef judges, except that Emily never called us ‘guys’ once! She was a fabulous dining table attendant.

It was so lovely to have Tanya, John and Emily to join us for teas and coffees after kitchen had closed! It had it all – a great group of diners (we all got on so well!) a fantastic atmosphere, exceptional food, beautiful surroundings and in short a real gastronomic experience, thanks to a totally committed, dare I say it obsessed, perfectionist in the kitchen. We were eight very lucky diners…

Thank you Knife and Fork. I expect this to become a sell-out event on every occasion.”

Roseanne

June 2015

 

“What a fabulous evening at Knife and Fork. Tanya’s pop up restaurant was an absolute delight. She should feel enormous pride in what she has created. The taster menu, from start to finish, was creative and beautifully presented, each course offering its on special bit of interest. Eight of us enjoyed lovely food, good conversation and relaxed surroundings, the time just melting away! It is an evening that must be repeated, soon.”

Richard

June 2015

Salmon with cockle & butter sauce

Salmon with cockle & butter sauce

“I have to admit to being a little sceptical about the concept of a ‘pop up restaurant’ but when offered the opportunity to go for dinner at Knife and Fork, I, together with my husband (who is himself quite a connoisseur in both terms of cooking and eating) decided to give it a go – and boy, any doubts on the concept were blown away.

Would we recommend Knife and Fork? – I think you know the answer! If any of you, like me cannot quite get your heads around the concept of a pop up restaurant – I cannot urge you enough to give this one a go – get ready for a taste of heaven and you won’t be disappointed”.

Debbie

May 2015

Book Now